The National Transport Authority wishes to acknowledge the assistance and contributions of the following persons to the National Cycle Manual:

DTO Technical Working Group (for Draft Manual):

Chair: Muiris O’Keeffe

Dublin Transportation Office:

Michael Aherne

Robert Parkinson

Mick MacAree

Julie Galbraith

David Clements

Colin Clarke

Department of Transport:

John McCarthy

Ann Cody

Dominic Mullaney

Dublin City Council:

Niall Gormley

Ciarán Fallon

Eoghan Madden

Tim O’Sullivan

South Dublin County Council:

Denis Ryan

Helena Fallon

Kildare County Council:

Dónal Hodgins

Laois County Council:

Michael O’Hora

Limerick City Council:

Vincent Murray

Quality Bus Network Project Office:

Anne McElligott

Eoghan Forristal

Sorcha Sheehy

National Roads Authority:

Helen Hughes

An Garda Síochána:

John T Murphy


Sean Doherty, Mott McDonald

Joe Seymour, DBFL.

Seamus MacGearailt, Roughan & O’Donovan

Expert Review Group:

International experts:

Alex Sully (England)

André Pettinga (Netherlands)

Erl Wilkie (Scotland)

Niels Jensen (Denmark)

Robert Kelly (Ireland)

Consultants for Editing and Production

Brady Shipman Martin (John Kelly, Partner, and Rafal Nieznalski)


Fusio (website development)


Michael Aherne, Robert Parkinson, Jeroen Buis

John Kelly

Dublin Bus (supply of open-top bus)

Selected photos from Sustrans

Preliminary Research

Interface for Cycling expertise

Jeroen Buis

Roelof Wittink

Consultation The National Transport Authority also wishes to acknowledge the comments and contributions of the many persons and organisations who reviewed and comments on the draft Cycle Manual.